Patterns: Sofilantjes Iridis Girls Dress & Otium Womens Top

Fabrics:

Iridis Girls Dress – Art Gallery Fabrics ,100% Premium Cotton Voile – Dripping Paint Warming

– Cotton + Steele, 100% Premium Unbleached Cotton – Stitch

Otium Womens Top – Art Gallery Fabrics, 95% Cotton, 5 % Spandex – Chalk on Charcoal

Art Gallery Fabrics, 95% Cotton, 5% Spandex – Porcelains Prism

When I was asked to join this blog tour I was more than willing to test out some of the Sofilantjes patterns, I was unfamiliar with Sofilantjes patterns but once I headed over to their website and saw the options I was more than impressed.

I couldn’t decide on just one pattern to blog about, so I chose the Iridis dress for my 3 year old daughter and Otium top for me!

Now, I can easily say that I am one for putting my foot in things and overstepping my boundaries at the moment which I thought I had done with choosing two patterns but I was assured that  these patterns are easy and quick to sew up so you I wouldn’t have any problems. Well, they we right.

     

I chose to work on my daughters dress first, as it was a little more technical. I was a little bit daunted with how many pattern pieces there was in this pattern, but honestly cutting them out was the hardest part. The layers all fit together like a glove and give this dress some real personality. I think this will be my daughters Christmas dress if I can keep her out of it and stain free until then!

 

I’ve always loved playing with print on print and that’s one of the reasons I chose this dress. After deliberating on which fabrics to choose for a little while these two just popped while they were together. I obviously have a certain pallet when it comes to my daughter as it matches her feature wall perfectly!

The fit of the pattern is perfect, I chose a size three because, well she is 3 and although there are quite a few pieces to this pattern once you get in the zone it really doesn’t take long to sew up and is really quite simply. It also comes in a knit version and has a circle skirt add on so you are spoilt for options with this pattern. You can also choose to do rolled hems where I chose to do bias binding.

 

Sofilantjes Iridis dress you are a winner!

What can I say about the Otium top except I love it! It was so easy I literally cut it and sewed it in an hour and a half! I was stoked! I had time during my little boys nap to cut out and make a top plus help my girl paint and have a cup of tea….It was amazing!

I wish every day could be this productive! The fit is perfect, it is relaxed around the bits you don’t want to see but the neck trim and cuffs are a perfect fit and give this top a little bit of structure.  I decided to go for the plain top option with ¾ sleeves. The pattern also has a short and long sleeve option. You also have the choice to make a low back with bow or a front diagonal pocket. With the fabric choices I had made, which are awesome by the way!  I was a little hesitant to try my fist Otium with any of the extras plus time was not on my side with only a few days out from the release of my blog I just wanted something with no frills to sew and this was it! I think I will be making a couple more of these in my time 🙂

Shop the fabric online by clicking here!

 

If you want to see more Aussies with their beautiful Sofjilantes pattern makes be sure to check out their blogs –

Monday Idle sunshine

Tuesday Horris And Deedle

Wednesday Little Cumquat, Bartacks and Singletrack

Thursday Tea, Dust and Stitches, Brave Fabrics

Friday While She was Sleeping, Mend and Make New

.