I was lucky enough to have our first kid free trip to Langkawi, Malaysia. As soon as we booked our flights and accommodation I was keen to start researching whether or not there was a decent Batik Fabric store in Langkawi and there is! Atma Alam Batik Art Village!

This place is beautiful. Unfortunately they do not permit photography inside the art village so I couldn’t get any photo’s. I have though included in this post some photo’s of our trip away. This island is so beautiful and I can see how your surroundings could be an inspriation to create such wonderful batik fabrics.

I was greeted by a friendly woman out the front and directed to the fabrics section. All the fabrics at the art village are either hand painted or hand stamped and there is a vast variety. There are piles and piles as well as a load of hanging batik fabric that you can buy as pre cut 2 metre lengths. The variety is endless and they also come in a range of compositions. They offer silks, cotton, cotton voile, lawn and a beautiful soft and silky cotton/silk blend, which was definitely my favourite.

They also have a range of wholesale fabrics which I took a peek at. There wasn’t as much variety as the 2 metre lengths but still a fantastic and wide range of fabrics and I still had a lot of trouble trying to shortlist the fabrics I was going to bring back. I went for a range of compositions and tried to be broad with the batik designs. I went for 2 voiles, 1 hand painted lawn and 3 cotton/silk blend fabrics. They are beautiful, the more I look at them and learn about the batik technique the more I fall in love with them.

After finally choosing my fabrics I move around the show room and have a look. They have so much to offer other than batik fabrics. There are paintings, fashion garments for ladies, men and children as well as soft toys, ceramics, the list goes on. They also offer a Batik Workshop which I would one day love to do.

This place is definitely worth a visit if you ever find yourself in Langkawi. It is also conveniently located, just 2kms from the airport. Hopefully one day I will be able to visit Langkawi again and purchase some more lovely and unique batik fabrics.

 

Shop Atma Alam Batik fabrics online by clicking here!