Pattern: Sew Over It – Ultimate Shift Dress

Fabric: 100% Premium Cotton Voile Art Gallery Fabrics, Flowered Engrams Ornate by Katarina Roccella (Recollection Collection)

The Sew Over It – Ultimate Shift Dress is awesome. For starters it has so many variations you will never get bored of this pattern. You are literally spoilt for choice. To start, it gives you plenty of sleeve options. These include a set in sleeve (short, three quarter or full length), a sleeve frill or just sleeveless. It also gives you the option of adding a neck frill which looks really cute. The pattern also provides the option to make it into a top and a tunic. The size range is 8 – 20.  I totally recommend this pattern to a beginner seamstress. It has a lot of good sewing fundamentals like bust darts and neck facing which once mastered will help you to progress to intermediate patterns.

The fabric I chose is the beautiful and soft 100% premium cotton voile by Katarina Roccella of Art Gallery Fabrics. The voile is lightweight without being see through and surprisingly has a little give surprisingly. It is super comfy to wear.

With so many choices for this dress I decide to trace the pattern as I will be definitely be using it again to make many variations. I choose to trace a size 12 dress with ¾ sleeves. I decided to add a straight cuff with facing to the sleeve for a little detail. The fit is great and hides with great ease my ‘I had 2 kids in 2years and refuses to budge spare tire,” which totally excites me and means this will be made into ALL the tops and dresses for me! The instructions were easy to follow and I really enjoyed getting back my sewing basics, made me a little more confident to try something a little bit more technical.

I had such a great time making this dress, it ended up being one of those rare weeks where the house is reasonably tidy and my two little ones so kindly decide to nap at the same time so I was able to sneak in an hour or so of sewing in the afternoon.

Shop the fabric and sewing pattern online by clicking here!