Pattern: Megan Nielsen Patterns – MN4205//Mini Virginia

Fabric: Knit 95% Cotton, 5% Spandex. Art Gallery Fabrics, Paparounes Crimson by Katatrina Roccella (Skolepos Collection)

The only way I know how to start is WOW, WOW, WOW! Oh Happy Day!

I have just realised I never have to leave the house again to buy my daughter leggings ….well as long as I have a little elastic and some stretchy fabric in my stash….

This pattern is awesome, easy to follow and super simple so if you are a beginner seamstress with an adorable little person snotting on your knees then this is a great place to start.

I chose version 1 which is just two main pattern pieces and optional knee patches. I chose not to do the patches on these leggings as I didn’t have any appropriate fabric in my stash that matched the fabric I was using. I can see in the future these knee patches will be a great way of using some of my little scraps that I have been holding onto for years and can’t bring myself to throw out!

The pattern is just two main pattern pieces, you sew the crotch seams first and then the inner leg seam from opening to opening, attach the elastic, top stitch it, then hem the leg opening. That is literally it!

My daughter is 2 and a half and I made her a size 2-3. As she is a little shortie I took the pattern up 1.5cm from the ankle and this seemed to be the perfect amount, as the length is great on her.

Mini Virginia leggings are so sew easy and well worth the investment. The size range is from 2/3years old to 10/12 years old and has 3 versions to play with. Version 1 as mentioned above, version 2 has a separate waistband and cuff and is very stylish and version 3 is a shortie which is great for under skirts and dresses and will be definitely  getting a workout in the warmer months to wear on their own as well.

So that’s pretty much all I have to say about Megan Nielsen’s Mini Virginia leggings, can’t wait to make all the leggings in the world. This pattern definitely makes me not so afraid of sewing. Anna’s bestie has already been sent a matching pair so they can be totally twinning!

Peace out and happy sewing!

Click here to shop the pattern and fabrics!